My first poetry slam experience.

So then there you are, standing in front of a group of people you’ve never seen before, about to tell them about something very personal. And you’re shaking, and your nervous, and you wonder: “Should I, or should I not?”

Yesterday I went to see a couple of poetry slam/spoken word performances, which I had never done before. Honestly, I figured that was the kind of stuff the only did in America. I’d seen some poetry slam on YouTube before and loved it, but personally I had never done anything close to it. I have written poetry before, but I felt like writing a poem would be different than performing a poetry slam piece. I’d write about very different things, in a very different choice of words. But I hadn’t really ever tried before. Especially not when I had my writers block for about a whole year, and even when I tried, there was nothing I could write down. Not a story, not a poem, no lyrics, nothing. But that’s not what this is about now.

So before the performances started, I had heard that afterwards, there would also be open mic. But as I had never written or done anything like that, I didn’t feel like I would do that. And so the show started. First there was Vloedt, an awesome musician with very beautiful lyrics. Then Teddy Bair come up,Β with powerful words to make you think about some important things in life. And last, there was Quinten. He performed pieces that were quite funny really. And in between these great performances, I couldn’t get the idea of a poem of my own out of my head. There was one subject I was thinking about, but I had prepared nothing, and since it was such an emotional subject, I didn’t feel like I would do anything with it either. Until the show ended, and people who wanted to perform had to give up their names. Well, I didn’t exactly give up mine, I had nothing written, nothing prepared, hadn’t even done or written anything like that. Yet as soon as I told my friend that had invited me that there was something circling around in my head, and the host said that there weren’t many names on the list yet, she made sure I was added to the list as well. And with some pen and paper, I quickly wrote down the idea that was in my head.

After the break some other artists performed during open mic, and their were many different types of poetry, each of them beautiful in their own way. It was a joy to listen to all these people, sharing a similar passion, even when very different at times. And then there it was, my name. I was about to perform my very first piece of poetry slam, written in about 5 minutes or so, around people that have been doing this for much longer. And with a subject that was still somewhat taboo, in front of people I didn’t even know, I went to stand in front of the crowd, and performed my very own piece. I was shaking, my heart was beating fast, and a ton of emotions went through my body. And while I’d love to share my poem with you guys, I don’t think I would do it justice by just typing it. So if you guys want to hear it, leave a comment, and I’ll see if there’s a way that I could record it, or make a video of it, so I can share it with you too.

Most of all, this experience has been amazing, and I’ll definitely do this again in the future. It’s during moments like yesterday, that you learnΒ more about yourself, and about what you truly want out of your life. I’ve discovered another passion, that deep down I knew I had, but had never done anything about. And that’s what life is about: passion. About doing what makes you happy, what makes you yearn for more.

So thank you to the people listening, and thank you Kristien, for inviting me. I had a great time!

Alli x

13 thoughts on “My first poetry slam experience.

Add yours

    1. Thank you! It’s a great feeling, but also scary, haha πŸ˜€ especially since it was about something very emotional. I don’t like looks of compassion and pity, and was afraid that I’d be getting those. But I was so happy I did it πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Not a poetry slam, but a ‘performance’ by our local writers’ club as part of the Ilkley Literature Festival last year was my first experience. Scary but fun too. It was video’d so I put it on my blog last October. Here’s a link to the clip:

    We’ve done something similar twice in a local library since.
    Did you record yours as you said you might?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice! Better than my first performance, haha, I was shaking πŸ˜€ you seemed quite calm!
      I’m busy recording it. I’m starting a YouTube channel, but I need my equipment first. I almost have everything now ^^

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

